Community
Wiki Posts
Search

What are my 2.4G conversion options?

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2011, 11:18 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default What are my 2.4G conversion options?

Hi all,
I am only new at this so please bear with me. I have just purchased a 2nd hand RC8 RS and of course now I am wanting to update a few things on a limited budget, rx being priority.
My question is is what are my options as far as moding my XP3D 27mg rx/tx system to 2.4G. (I would love a Spektrum but budget won't go there.)
I have seen a couple of cheap options from Corona and Assan and am wondering if anyone has proven their reliability with any success, if so what model would I need from either of these brands for my existing system.
Old 04-06-2011, 03:02 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)

I'm using a XP3D with a spektum module. Got it for ~$40 on eBay. I'm not familiar with the brands you mentioned, but if it is made for Futaba it should work (though the module will mount upside down in the XP3D).
Old 04-06-2011, 11:24 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)

Wozthefitter,

ok, heres how it works, i would suggest that you do some research first before buying some DIY kit , from the result you will get some understanding on whats the fuzz is all about. all the knowledge you have will help you decide if the benefit will out weight the risk involved.

There are some threads here which we used as our reference but its not enough , try googling more, based from my experience of the three ( Corono, Assan, Frisky) Frisky is better coz it has a fail safe options, uses better 2.4 signal (Faster frequency Hopping) as compared to the two other, BUTTTTTTT..... has a problem with their one way DIY module ( V8HT model) it is prone to Servo Glitch (some analog Servos), but this was address by the newer module, the two way telemetry DIY module. This DIY has a selection to change the speed/freq of the servo in which the one way did not have.